The Formation of the Radio Research Board

In 1920 the Department of Scientific and Industrial Research formed the Radio research Board in order to

Direct any research of a fundamental nature that may be required, and any investigation having a civilian as well as a military interest

The first board was chaired by the Admiral of the Fleet Sir Henry Jackson and had some very influential members such as Lord Rutherford.

The board oversaw several sub committees whose membership included other famous scientists such as E. V. Appleton and R. A. Watson-Watt.